Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

Top Empowerment Awards 2023 celebrates South Africa’s transformation pioneers

Africa. The awards ceremony celebrated and honoured South Africa’s Purpose-Led Transformers, recognizing their commitment and accountability to securing a transformed and empowered future for the nation.

The event was hosted by the talented Alan Committie, who set the stage for an inspiring evening of celebration and recognition. Distinguished guests, transformation captains, and industry leaders came together to acknowledge the major advancements made by businesses and individuals in boosting black-owned enterprises and empowering people from all walks of life.

“I am immensely proud and delighted to extend my heartfelt congratulations to all the winners and runners-up of the Top Empowerment Awards 2023,” Ralf Fletcher, CEO of Top Media, stated. “Their remarkable achievements and unwavering commitment to transformation have made an indelible impact on South Africa’s economy and society. As we celebrate the 22nd annual Top Empowerment Awards, it is evident that each of them is a catalyst for positive change, driving us toward a more inclusive and prosperous future.”

“This prestigious event brought together industry leaders, trailblazers, and visionaries who exemplify the true spirit of empowerment. Their dedication and hard work inspire us all, and I am truly honoured to witness the exceptional strides they have taken in advancing our nation.”

The top winners of the evening include:

  1. Top Empowered Company: Fast Growth Black-Owned SMME of the Year Award

Winner: NTGR Engineering

Representative: Abednico Mkhari, Director, NTGR Engineering

  1. Top Empowered Company: Sustainable Business of the Year Award

Winner: Sun International

Representative: Anthony Leeming, Chief Executive, Sun International

  1. Top Empowered Company: Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in the Workplace of the Year Award

Winner: Exxaro

Recipient: Dr. Nombasa Tsengwa, CEO, Exxaro

  1. Top Empowered Company: Digital Transformation of the Year Award

Winner: Liquid Intelligent Technologies

Recipient: Trishen Moodley, Head of Information Technology, Liquid Intelligent Technologies

  1. Top Empowered Company: Public Sector of the Year Award

Winner: CEF Group

Recipient: Dr. Tshepo Mokoka, Chairperson, CEF Group

  1. Top Empowered Company: Education and Skills Development of the Year Award

Winner: BP South Africa

Recipient: Taelo Mojapelo, CEO, BP Southern Africa

  1. Top Empowered Company: Enterprise and Supplier Development of the Year Award

Winner: African Bank

Recipient: Edna Montse, Group Executive Transformation & Sustainability, African Bank

  1. Top Empowered Company: Socio Economic Development of the Year Award

Winner: Sasol

Recipient: Brenda Nkosi-Bakare, Head Governance, Compliance, Planning & Management, Sasol

  1. Top Empowered Company: Job Creation Award of the Year Award

Winner: Schneider Electric

Recipient: Kim Naidoo, HR Lead, Schneider Electric

  1. Top Empowered Company: Youth Development of the Year Award

Winner: Nestlé

Recipient: Nicole Roos, Managing Director, Nestlé

  1. Top Empowered Company: Public Sector Leader of the Year Award

Winner: CEF Group – Zinhle Thupana

Recipient: Zinhle Thupana, Group Executive Corporate Service, CEF Group

  1. Top Empowered Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Winner: TakeNote IT – Mamela Luthuli

Recipient: Mamela Luthuli, Director and CEO, TakeNote IT

  1. Top Empowered Young Achiever of the Year Award

Winner: Dimension Data – Natalie Musonda

Recipient: Natalie Musonda, Head of Diversity and Sustainability, Dimension Data

  1. Top Empowered Business Leader of the Year Award

Winner: Methano Group – Sereme Joel Maphaka

Recipient: Sereme Maphaka, CEO, Methano Group

  1. Top Empowered Business of the Year Award

Winner: Merchants

Recipient: Sydwell Shikweni, Vice President Transformation, Merchants

The event also witnessed special recognition given to Legends of Empowerment: Nedbank, Inseta, Amis, SAB, Bathu Shoes, and PWC.

Transforming South Africa: Celebrating the Visionaries 

In the presence of the Honourable Deputy Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure, Ms. Bernice Swarts, the keynote address highlighted the importance of innovation and connectivity in driving accessible pathways for South Africa’s future.

The evening was also graced by esteemed judges, including Noah Debeila, President & CEO of SMME Chamber of Commerce, and Tshepo Ncube, Head International Coverage at Absa, who played pivotal roles in selecting the winners.

“I would like to extend my sincere gratitude to all our sponsors and partners, including Nedbank and PepsiCo South Africa, for their invaluable support in making this event a resounding success. Their commitment to transformation and empowerment has been instrumental in elevating this platform and recognizing the outstanding achievements of these deserving organizations and individuals,” Fletcher said.

“Together, we will continue to push boundaries, break barriers, and shape a future where equality and opportunity flourish. I have every confidence that the impact of the awards will resonate far beyond the evening, inspiring countless others to join the movement towards a more connected, inclusive, and prosperous South Africa,” Fletcher continued. “Congratulations once again to all the winners and runners-up. Your passion and dedication to transformation have set an example for us all. Thank you for being the driving force behind change, and I eagerly look forward to witnessing your continued success and impact on our beloved nation.” 


Media contact: Cathlen Fourie, +27 82 222 9198,,

More about Topco Media

Topco Media is a leader in South African business-to-business communication, where our primary service and product offerings i.e., Events and Publishing, aim to reward, celebrate, and advertise the best in South African business and government; educate; inform; foster relationships; and facilitate understanding on a range of topical issues and subjects.


Top Empowerment website:



Leave a Reply